Activate kits for a project

The Build & Run section of the Projects mode sidebar lists the kits that are compatible with your project. To activate one or more kits, click them.

{List of kits in Projects mode sidebar}

The list displays kits from Preferences > Kits. Warning and error icons indicate that the kit configuration is not suitable for the project type. To view the warning and error messages, move the mouse pointer over the kit name.

In the list of kits, you may see entries described as Replacement for <kit-name>. Qt Creator generates them to save your project-specific settings, such as custom build flags or run configuration arguments that would disappear if the corresponding kits were simply removed when you remove Qt versions while updating your Qt installation. You can modify the kit configuration to use a currently installed Qt version and save the kit under a new name.

Manage kits

To modify kit configuration or to add kits to the list or to remove them from it, select Manage Kits.

Each kit consists of a set of values that define one environment, such as a device, compiler, debugger, and Qt version.

To copy the build and run settings for a kit to another kit, select Copy Steps from Other Kit in the context menu.

To deactivate a kit, select Disable Kit for Project in the context menu.

Note: Deactivating a kit removes all custom build and run settings for the kit.

To import an existing build for the project, select Import Existing Build.

See also Add kits, Configuring Projects, and Kits.

© 2024 The Qt Company Ltd. Documentation contributions included herein are the copyrights of their respective owners. The documentation provided herein is licensed under the terms of the GNU Free Documentation License version 1.3 as published by the Free Software Foundation. Qt and respective logos are trademarks of The Qt Company Ltd in Finland and/or other countries worldwide. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.